Tesla
Products: AV stack, Humanoid, Robotaxi. Risk band: Critical
RobotRisk index 100.0 /100 (severity- and time-weighted incidents) · ranked 1 of 15 among AV trucking companies with incidents (93 tracked).
Analyst brief Tesla's index of 100.0 ranks 1 of 15 companies in AV trucking with incident history. The record includes two fatalities involving Autopilot or FSD engagement, a federal jury finding of partial liability in a prior fatal Autopilot crash, multiple robotaxi crashes during Austin and Houston operations, NHTSA probes into FSD behavior and crash-report redaction, and separate industrial-safety entries involving a robotic arm and the Optimus humanoid platform malfunctioning during demonstrations. The mix combines regulator-driven items, including NHTSA investigations and litigation, with press-reported crashes and a cited third-party finding that robotaxi crash rates substantially exceed human drivers. The eighteen-month span with entries recurring most months, spanning software, hardware, and manufacturing operations, reflects a sustained multi-domain pattern rather than an isolated incident.
Risk index
100.0/100 RobotRisk index
32.1/100 Median index across the 15 AV trucking companies with incident history (93 tracked, 78 with none)
1 of 15 Rank in AV trucking (of 15 with incident history)
Critical Risk band
Incident timeline
Comparisons over time
Per-type breakdown
Unique incident list
41 unique incidents on file for this company.
S3 03 Sep 2026 · regulatory · NHTSA opens Audit Query AQ26002 into Tesla Cybercab certification
Austin, TX, USA 1 supporting source row high confidence
S3 ~Aug 2026 · crash · Tesla Robotaxi (Model Y) crashes through bollards in Austin, no driver present
Austin, TX, USA 1 supporting source row medium confidence
S2 ~Jul 2026 · malfunction · Tesla robotaxi drives wrong-way in Tampa
Tampa, FL, USA 1 supporting source row low confidence
S5 20 Jun 2026 · fatality · Tesla crashes into Texas home, killing woman inside; Autopilot engagement disputed
Katy, TX, USA 1 supporting source row medium confidence
S2 ~May 2026 · crash · Tesla remote-operator-controlled Robotaxi crashes in Houston
Houston, TX, USA 1 supporting source row medium confidence
S3 16 Mar 2026 · crash · Tesla discloses another unsupervised Robotaxi crash in Austin
Austin, TX, USA 1 supporting source row high confidence
S3 16 Dec 2025 · crash · Report: Tesla robotaxis crashing over 12x more frequently than human drivers
Austin, TX, USA 1 supporting source row low confidence
S1 ~Dec 2025 · malfunction · Optimus falls backward and collapses during Miami 'Autonomy Visualized' demo
Miami, FL, USA 1 supporting source row high confidence
S3 24 Oct 2025 · regulatory · NHTSA probes Tesla 'Mad Max' FSD mode over reckless driving behavior
USA 1 supporting source row high confidence
S5 06 Oct 2025 · fatality · Tesla driver killed after Autopilot/FSD stopped car in live highway lane, rear-ended by semi
Seminole County, FL, USA 1 supporting source row medium confidence
S2 22 Sep 2025 · crash · Tesla robotaxi involved in multiple crashes on first day of Austin test expansion
Austin, TX, USA 1 supporting source row medium confidence
S4 18 Aug 2025 · crash · Tesla Cybertruck on Full Self-Driving attempts to drive off Houston overpass
Houston, TX, USA 1 supporting source row high confidence
S4 01 Aug 2025 · regulatory · Federal jury finds Tesla 33% liable in fatal 2019 Key Largo Autopilot crash
Key Largo, FL, USA 1 supporting source row medium confidence
S2 24 Jun 2025 · crash · Tesla robotaxi involved in first collision during Austin testing
Austin, TX, USA 1 supporting source row medium confidence
S2 ~Feb 2025 · crash · Tesla Cybertruck in self-driving mode crashes into pole near Reno school
Reno, NV, USA 1 supporting source row medium confidence
S2 07 Jan 2025 · malfunction · Tesla 'Actually Smart Summon' Linked to ~16 Parking Lot Collisions
USA 1 supporting source row high confidence
S2 07 Jan 2025 · crash · Tesla's 'Actually Smart Summon' Feature Reportedly Linked to Multiple Parking Lot Collisions
USA 1 supporting source row high confidence
S5 18 Oct 2024 · fatality · US probes Tesla Full Self-Driving system after pedestrian killed
USA 1 supporting source row medium confidence
S5 18 Oct 2024 · regulatory · NHTSA investigates Tesla Full Self-Driving after crashes including a fatality
USA 1 supporting source row high confidence
S3 ~Aug 2024 · fire · Tesla Semi truck catches fire in US ahead of European showcase
USA 1 supporting source row low confidence
S3 ~Aug 2024 · crash · Tesla Semi crash in Northern California investigated by NTSB
Northern California, USA 1 supporting source row medium confidence
S2 ~Jun 2024 · crash · Tesla in Autopilot Mode Hits Parked Police Vehicle in Fullerton, CA
Fullerton, CA, USA 1 supporting source row medium confidence
S2 08 May 2024 · malfunction · Tesla on Full Self-Driving nearly drives into passing train
OH, USA 1 supporting source row high confidence
S4 26 Apr 2024 · regulatory · NHTSA investigation finds Autopilot contributed to 467 crashes including 13 fatal
Location not specified 1 supporting source row high confidence
S5 19 Apr 2024 · fatality · Tesla in Full Self-Driving mode killed Seattle-area motorcyclist
Maltby, WA, USA 1 supporting source row medium confidence
S5 19 Apr 2024 · fatality · Fatal FSD crash kills motorcyclist, Snohomish County WA
Snohomish County, WA, USA 1 supporting source row medium confidence
S3 13 Dec 2023 · recall · NHTSA recall of over 2 million Tesla vehicles for inadequate Autopilot driver monitoring
Location not specified 1 supporting source row medium confidence
S5 ~Nov 2023 · fatality · Tesla on Full Self-Driving kills pedestrian on Arizona interstate
AZ, USA 1 supporting source row medium confidence
S4 22 Jul 2023 · injury · Former factory worker sues Tesla after robotic arm knocks him unconscious
Fremont, CA, USA 1 supporting source row medium confidence
S5 18 Feb 2023 · fatality · California family blames Musk for son's death in Tesla Autopilot crash
CA, USA 1 supporting source row medium confidence
S3 ~Aug 2022 · malfunction · NHTSA finds 60 FSD Beta crashes and one fatality over 12-month period
Location not specified 1 supporting source row medium confidence
S5 16 May 2022 · fatality · Tesla Autopilot drove car into tree, killing Colorado man
CO, USA 1 supporting source row medium confidence
S5 25 Apr 2019 · fatality · Fatal Autopilot crash (2019 Key Largo crash) - Tesla later hit with $243M jury verdict
FL, USA 1 supporting source row high confidence
S5 23 Mar 2018 · fatality · Autopilot fatality of Apple engineer Walter Huang, Mountain View, California
Mountain View, CA, USA 1 supporting source row high confidence
S5 07 May 2016 · fatality · First US Autopilot fatality: Joshua Brown, Williston, Florida
Williston, FL, USA 1 supporting source row high confidence
S3 not documented · regulatory · Tesla accused of redacting details of three robotaxi accidents in crash reports
Austin, TX, USA 1 supporting source row low confidence
S2 not documented · crash · Tesla Robotaxis Involved in Four Crashes Despite Safety Monitors Onboard
Austin, TX, USA 1 supporting source row medium confidence
S2 not documented · crash · Driverless Tesla using Smart Summon crashes into parked car in Maryland
MD, USA 1 supporting source row low confidence
S1 not documented · malfunction · Tesla Cybertruck on FSD nearly turns into oncoming SUV
USA 1 supporting source row high confidence
S3 not documented · recall · NHTSA forces recall of 362,758 Full Self-Driving Beta vehicles
Location not specified 1 supporting source row high confidence
S3 not documented · injury · Optimus robot allegedly pins and injures Fremont plant worker
Fremont, CA, USA 1 supporting source row medium confidence
Similar companies
Same industry, nearest RobotRisk band or score.
Cross-links and alerts
CSA company page
RobotRisk is a public-record compilation of robot and autonomous-system incidents. Scores sum each company's documented incidents weighted by severity and source confidence with a 3-year-half-life time decay (divided by exposure where a fleet-size figure is on file; none is today), log-scaled 0-100 against the global maximum. Sources: regulator records (NHTSA, FDA, OSHA, NTSB, CPSC, CISA) and cited press. Compiled 2026-09-16. Zero-incident listings mean no documented public incident was found, not proof of safety. Intake status: Google Alerts intake is not configured for this build: manual refresh only. Privacy · Terms